The January Series: Nicole Baker Fulgham on “Educating All God’s Children”

Don’t miss Brazos Press author Nicole Baker Fulgham speaking today for Calvin College’s The January Series on “Educating All God’s Children.”

Her presentation can be heard live today (Tuesday, January 14) at 12:30 p.m. EST (11:30 a.m. CST, 10:30 a.m. MST, 9:30 a.m. PST). Click here to listen live.

 

By the time kids in low-income communities are in fourth grade, they’re already three grade levels behind their peers in wealthier communities. More than 50% won’t graduate from high school—and many that do graduate only perform at an 8th grade level. Only one in ten will go on to graduate from college-and these students have severely diminished opportunities for personal prosperity and professional success.

America strives to be the land of equal opportunity, but our nation’s public schools are not leveling the playing field. Something must change, and in this presentation Nicole will explore the realities that exist today and what it is that needs to change. Nicole will address what Christians, and everyone, can and should do to help improve educational outcomes for America’s children by helping to improve our public schools. She will delve into the problems that cause educational inequity in the first place and what people of faith can practically do to help seek justice for all God’s children.

Nicole Baker Fulgham is the founder and president of The Expectations Project, a non-profit organization that develops & mobilizes faith-motivated advocates who help close the academic achievement gap in public schools. She is the author of Educating All God’s Children: What Christians Can – and Should – Do to Improve Public Education for Low-Income Kids.

A native of Detroit, Nicole graduated from the University of Michigan and joined Teach For America where she taught fifth grade in Compton, California. Nicole received her doctorate in education from UCLA with a focus on urban education policy and teacher preparation. She joined the national staff of Teach For America, where she held several key leadership roles, including Vice President of New Site Development, Vice President of Teacher Training and Support and Vice President of Faith Community Relations.

Nicole is a Mind Trust Education Entrepreneur Fellow and a Pahara-Aspen Institute Education Fellow. She speaks at national faith-based and education conferences, has appeared on CNN and ABC News and authored several articles about educational equity. Christianity Today Magazine featured Nicole as One to Watch and also named her one of the 50 Women Leaders Influencing the Church and Culture. Nicole serves on the board of several non-profit organizations and lives in the Washington, DC area with her husband and their three children.